Nearly half a million young people have registered to vote since Prime Minister Theresa May called a snap general election at the end of April.

The election will take place on 8th June and the deadline to register to vote shuts at 11:59 pm on Monday 22nd May.

Nottingham Trent Students’ Union are encouraging their students to vote and ensure that their voices are heard on issues that matter most to them.

Afonso Martins, VP Activities at the union told CBJ Reports that it’s ‘vital’ for students to register.

“If you don’t get informed and don’t vote, your voice won’t be heard.” – Afonso Martins

It’s a common conception that young people do not care about politics.

According to statistics released by Opinium on behalf of the London School of Economics 64% of people aged between 18-24 voted on the EU Referendum last summer in comparison to only 58% who turned out for the General Election the previous year.

In the older age categories, the turnout was much higher with 74% of voters aged between 55-to-64 and 90% of over 65 voters turning out for the EU referendum.

Currently, over 450,000 people aged under 25 have registered to vote since the snap general election was called and it’s on course for more than half a million people to have registered before the deadline.

Register To Vote Applications

Students can vote in the General Election from University as long as they are registered to their term time address. They cannot vote in two constituencies though.

General Election 2017 Criteria

  • Must be registered to the electorate.
  • Aged 18 or over on the day of the election.
  • A British, Irish or qualifying Commonwealth citizen.
  • Resident at an address in the UK (or a British citizen living abroad who has been registered to vote in the UK in the last 15 years)
  • Not be legally excluded from voting.

For City-based Nottingham Trent University students the constituency is Nottingham East, a seat currently held by Labour’s Chris Leslie.

Candidates recently announced for the seat are, David Bishop, Elvis and The Yeti Himalayan Preservation, Kat Boettge, Green Party, Robert Hall-Palmer, UK Independence Party, Barry Holliday, Liberal Democrats, Chris Leslie, Labour Party and Simon Murray, Conservative Party.

You can register to vote by clicking here.